Sunday 25 March 2018

Fermoy electoral area: first count

Cheers rang out in Mallow Youth Centre, the count centre for the Fermoy electoral area as Labour’s Noel McCarthy and Fianna Fail’s Kevin O’Keeffe were elected on the first count.

McCarthy, a sitting councillor and Fermoy’s town’s only candidate, bucked the national trends, topping the poll with an impressive 3,511 votes. The quota was 2,506.

O’Keeffe, from Mitchelstown, who is the son of former T.D. Ned O’Keeffe and a sitting councillor, came second with 2,923 votes.

Fianna Fail supporters were celebrating as sitting councillor Frank O’Flynn from Glanworth and newcomer and community activist Ian Doyle came third and fourth, making it likely that the party will take three seats in the area.

Sinn Fein’s June Murphy came fifth, with 1,675 votes and looks like taking a seat in the six-seater.

Fine Gael look likely to retain their single seat for the area in County Hall, with newcomer Kay Dawson polling well at 1,618 votes.

Online Editors

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News