Monday 23 October 2017

Dun Laoghaire Rathdown latest: Recount beginning in Dun Laoghaire ward

Aideen Sheehan

Aideen Sheehan

A RECOUNT is beginning in the Dun Laoghaire ward this afternoon after Labour stalwart Jane Dillon Byrne was narrowly squeezed out earlier this morning for a final seat, just 17 votes behind Fine Gael candidate Mary Fayne.

With Labour struggling the new left scored highly, with two People Before Profit candidates Karl Gill and Melissa Halpin securing seats, Three seats had gone to  Fine Gael candidates, one to Cormac Devlin of Fianna Fail and one to Green candidate Ossian Smyth.

A recount is also underway in Killiney Shankill with Labour veteran Denis OCallaghan battling  with Cillian Doyle of People Before Profit for the final seat, with just 22 seats between them.

A recount in Glencullen Sandyford this morning called by eliminated candidate Nicola Curry of People Before Profit did not materially alter the result, and the count is continuing with four seats left to fill.

In Dundrum meanwhile the vote was completed  in the early hours with Fine Gael getting two seats, Fianna Fail got one, Catherine Martin of the Greens secured one seat and Sinn Feins Sorcha Nic  Cormaic was also elected.

Independent Shay Brennan also got in, as did Independent Seamus ONeill.

Fianna Fail candidates Mary Hanafin and Kate Feeney enjoyed an easier count securing their seats yesterday.

Fine Gael's Marie Baker and Barry Ward also won with Independent Victor Boyhan also securing a seat.

Stillorgan also finished early with Barry Saul and Josepha Madigan taking seats for Fine Gael, two going to Fianna Fail, one to Labour and and one to Independent Deirdre Donnelly.

Irish Independent

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News