Thursday 22 February 2018

Donegal: Six seats filled in Stranorlar Electoral Area

Anita Guidera

FF (2) SF (2) FG (1) IND (1)

The Stranorlar electoral area in Co Donegal returned five outgoing councilors with the sixth additional seat this time around going to Sinn Fein.

Sinn Fein’s Gary Doherty and the Independent Frank McBrearty were both elected on the first count.

Patrick McGowan was elected for Fianna Fail on the 7th count.

Sinn Fein’s second candidate, newcomer Liam Doherty was elected on the ninth count and the remaining candidates, Gerry Crawford (FF), Martin Harley (FG) declared elected on without reaching quota.

Overall, the Fianna Fail vote in this predominantly rural east Donegal constituency was down by three per cent while the Fine Gael vote took a ten per cent dive.

Sinn Fein were the main beneficiaries, increasing their vote by nine per cent, resulting in the election of a second candidate.

A drop of 11 per cent in the Labour vote and a corresponding increase in the vote for Independents is explained by the decision of Raphoe publican, Frank McBrearty to run as an independent candidate this time around.

The count which ended at 7.40pm, was the first to be completed in Co Donegal.

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News