Tuesday 20 February 2018

Carlow electoral area: Labour lose their seats Emma Jane Hade

THE tenth count has just been completed in Carlow, and Labour have taken a blow after they failed to retain two of their seats in the north electoral area.

Caroline Townsend has just been eliminated, and Des Hurley also lost his seat earlier this morning after the ninth count.

Five seats are left to be filled in the ten seater lea, and Fianna Fáil and Sinn Fein both look set to take another seat each.

Fianna Fáil said that they had initially hoped to hold their three seats.

However, one of the parties youngest candidates being elected on the second count last night made a fourth seat realistic for the party.

"We didn't expect the result we got, it has been absolutely fantastic to take all four in North Carlow," a spokesperson said earlier today.

Nobody has been elected this morning, but Independent candidates Conor Dowling, Pat Finnerty and Declan Alcock were eliminated.

Also eliminated was DDI's Saoire O'Brien.

The counting will continue throughout the afternoon, and it is strongly indicated that Sinn Fein, Fianna Fáil and Labour will definitely take three of the final five seats

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News