Tuesday 10 December 2019

Carlow electoral area: First count

Emma Jane Hade

THE CARLOW count centre has finally announced the results from the first count, after the boxes were first opened ten hours ago.

The first result came from the Muinebeag electorate area (South Carlow), where a total of eight seats are up for grabs with 17 candidates vying for the titles.


The electorate was 17,599.

Total poll: 9,878

Spoiled votes: 139

Total valid poll: 9,739

Quota: 1,083


Two candidates were elected after the first round, and Independent candidate Charlie Murphy topped the poll with 1,377.


Coming in second was Fine Gael's Tommy Kinsella who secured 1,130 votes.


The count was announced shortly after 7.30pm and was seriously delayed after a single ballot went missing.


Murphy retained his seat in spectacular style, and the Myshall man is very popular in his native area.

Online Editors

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News