Friday 6 December 2019

Carlow: Election count comes to a close

THE Carlow election count came to a close shortly before 6.30pm this evening.

All ten seats in the Carlow North area were finally filled after the 15th count, when Walter Lacey (Ind), Anne Ahern (FF), Will Paton (Lab) and Fergal Browne (FG) were deemed elected.

The 18 seats in the LEA have now been filled, with Sinn Fein and Fianna Fáil proving to be the big winners in Carlow.

It is understood that Sinn Fein have not ever held a seat on the county council.

Final seat count as follows:

FF 5

FG 6

SF 3

Ind 2

Lab 2

Online Editors

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News