Friday 15 December 2017

Athlone: Supreme vote getter Kevin 'Boxer' Moran continues his poll-topping ways

Supreme Athlone vote getter Kevin ‘Boxer’ Moran continued his poll-topping ways to be elected on the first count in Scoil na gCeithre Maistrí on Saturday night with over 1,234 votes to spare.

The former Fianna Fáil councillor garnered a massive 2,897 first preferences, over 21% of vote in the seven-seater Athlone municipal district area.

Boxer’s transfers played a major part in getting Sinn Féin’s sitting representative, Paul Hogan, over the line – elected on the second count with a final total of 1,684, exceeding the 1,663 quota. His first preference total was a 1,423. Then we had to wait until for the 7th count for the third seat to be filled by newcomer, Tom Farrell, of Fine Gael, a former Chairman of the Westmeath County Board of the GAA, who actually polled second to Boxer Moran with an impressive 1,502. He follows a family a tradition, his late father was also a councillor for Fine Gael many years ago, and retiring Cllr Joe Flanagan is his brother-in law.

The Walderstown native was elected on the eighth count following the elimination of sitting Cllr Tom Allen, also known to country music fans as TR Dallas, who was never in the shake up and polled just 647 first preferences. Another big loser in Athlone was Cllr Alan Shaw of Fine Gael, who only joined the local authority race after Gabrielle McFadden, opted to run solely in the by-election and Labour’s sitting representative, Jim Henson, who polled just 315 and was gone by the 4th count. Shaw was eliminated at the eighth count stage with his transfers enough to take his party colleagues closer to the line.

One of those, Fine Gael's John Dolan, was fourth to be elected on the ninth count, having lost narrowly last time out after co-option onto the local authority. The final three seats were filled by sitting councillors Frankie Keena (FF) and Aengus O'Rourke (FF) and Independent newcomer, Moate's Michael O'Brien, a former member of Fianna Fáil, at the ninth count stage without reaching the quota just after 3am Sunday morning.


Losers - sitting Cllrs Tom Allen (FF) Alan Shaw (FG) and Labour's Jim Henson (Lab)

The seven-seater Athlone area now comprises of two Independents, one Sinn Fein representative, two Fine Gael and two Fianna Fail councillors.

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News