| 2.8°C Dublin


Constituency Results


Seats: 5

Southern exposure

Watch the north-south divide.

Labour's Brendan Howlin makes it nine general elections in a row. Fianna Fáil will hold two, most likely sitting TDs James Browne and Malcolm Byrne, but they have to watch running mate Michael Sheehan benefiting from geography.

Fine Gael will drop one, from either ministers Paul Kehoe or Michael D'Arcy. Sinn Féin is not confident of Johnny Mythen as it feels he is too far north.

The last seat seems destined to go down south with former Fine Gael candidate and Independent Verona Murphy and former TD Mick Wallace backing Seán O'Shea. Aontú's Jim Codd is a long shot. The smart money appears to be on Independent Ger Carthy in Rosslare.

On the ballot

James Browne - Fianna Fail

Malcolm Byrne - Fianna Fail

Ger Carthy - Independent

Jim Codd - Aontú

Micheal D'Arcy - Fine Gael

Brendan Howlin - Labour

Paul Kehoe - Fine Gael

Lisa McDonald - Fianna Fail

Bart Murphy - Independent

Verona Murphy - Independent

Johnny Mythen - Sinn Fein

Séanie O'Shea - Independent4Change

Paula Roseingrieve - Green Party

Michael Sheehan - Fianna Fail

Deirdre Wadding - Solidarity-People Before Profit

* Bold text represents incumbent TD