| 3.6°C Dublin


Constituency Results


Seats: 5

FG plump for Ahearn

Following the death of Independent candidate Marese Skehan, the general election in Tipperary will be delayed. Fine Gael desperately craved a seat but were possibly staring defeat in the face again. Party HQ's preferred candidate was Mary Newman Julian, but they now feel Garret Ahearn is better placed to challenge Independent Seamus Healy as both have a Clonmel base.

Independents Michael Lowry and Mattie McGrath and Fianna Fáil's Jackie Cahill will all vie to top the poll. Labour's Alan Kelly will be elected too, but has to guard his north county base from Independent Joe Hannigan. Sinn Féin's Martin Browne was only coming into the equation if his party was heading for 40 seats. But Sinn Féin will see the delay as an opportunity to pile in the resources. Tipperary becomes a bumper five-seat by-election after the outcome everywhere else is known.

On the ballot

Garret Ahearn - Fianna Fáil

Martin Browne - Sinn Féin

Dolores Cahill - Irish Freedom Party

Jackie Cahill - Fianna Fáil

Sandra Farrell - Fianna Fáil

Imelda Goldsboro - Fianna Fáil

Joe Hannigan - Independent

Séamus Healy - Workers and Unemployed Action Group

Alan Kelly - Labour

Michael Lowry - Independent

Mattie McGrath - Independent

Mary Newman Julian - Fine Gael

Rob O'Donnell - Green Party

* Bold text represents incumbent TD