| 3.2°C Dublin


Constituency Results


Seats: 4

The siege of Castlebar

Not only is Enda Kenny out canvassing heavily for his Fine Gael replacement, Alan Dillon, but his wife, Fionnuala O'Kelly is out too.

Kenny's right-hand men John McHugh and Willie Geraghty are running the show in a bid to shore up the seat. Fine Gael minister Michael Ring will still come home from his Westport base. His independent streak has always posed a problem for others seeking to get into that space. Fianna Fáil deputy leader Dara Calleary in Ballina is stronger than Lisa Chambers in Castlebar. Sinn Féin's Rose Conway-Walsh benefiting from the Shinner Surge has the Old Firm parties worried. The Green Party's new gun Saoirse McHugh less so.

On the ballot

Dara Calleary - Fianna Fail

Lisa Chambers - Fianna Fail

Rose-Conway Walsh - Sinn Fein

Michelle Mulherin - Fine Gael

Alan Dillon - Fine Gael

Michael Ring - Fine Gael

Saoirse McHugh - Green Party

Joe Daly - Solidarity-People Before Profit

Kamal Uddin - Labour

Paul Lawless - Aontú

Gerry Loftus - Independent

Seán Forkin - Independent

Gráinne de Barra - Independent

Stephen Manning - Independent

Daithí Ó Fallamhái - Irish Freedom Party

* Bold text represents incumbent TD