| 2.9°C Dublin

Laois Offaly

Constituency Results


Seats: 5

Birr brings chill for Fine Gael

All the action is in west Offaly where Fine Gael's Marcella Corcoran Kennedy is fighting a losing battle in Birr. The contenders for the seat are Independent John Leahy, Fianna Fáil's Peter Ormond and Green Pippa Hackett, while Independent former Sinn Féin TD Carol Nolan is an outside bet. Fianna Fáil's Barry Cowen is solid in Tullamore for the second Offaly seat and the three Laois seats go to Fianna Fáil's Seán Fleming, Sinn Féin's Brian Stanley and Fine Gael minister Charlie Flanagan.

On the ballot

Marcella Corcoran-Kennedy - Fine Gael

Barry Cowen - Fianna Fail

John Daly - The National Party

Charlie Flanagan - Fine Gael

Pauline Flanagan - Fianna Fail

Sean Fleming - Fianna Fail

Pippa Hackett - Green Party

John Leahy - Independent

Carol Nolan - Independent

Peter Ormond - Fianna Fail

Noel O’Rourke - Renua

Ken Smollen - Irish Democratic Party

Brian Stanley - Sinn Fein

Noel Tuohy - Labour

Stephen Tynan - Solidarity-People Before Profit

* Bold text represents incumbent TD