| 2.8°C Dublin

Galway West

Constituency Results


Seats: 5

Ten tribes go to war

A TG4 poll has thrown it all up in the air. All it really showed is any five from ten candidates are in the mix.

Fianna Fáil's Éamon Ó Cuív and Fine Gael minister Seán Kyne will still take some beating. Fine Gael's Hildegarde Naughton was unfortunate to be shown heading the field in the opinion poll. Either way, it's hard to see Fine Gael not being down to one seat.

Independents Noel Grealish and Catherine Connolly are hugely susceptible to challenges from Sinn Féin's Mairéad Farrell, Green Pauline O'Reilly and Social Democrats Niall Ó Tuathail. Fianna Fáil's Ollie Crowe is there if his party get a bounce of the ball.

On the ballot

Conor Burke - Solidarity

Catherine Connolly - Independent

Ollie Crowe - Fianna Fail

Mike Cubbard - Independent

Mairead Farrell - Sinn Fein

Noel Grealish - Independent

Sean Kyne - Fine Gael

Joe Loughnane - People Before Profit

Niall McNelis - Labour

Hildergarde Naughton - Fine Gael

Cormac O Corcorain - Aontú

Eamon O Cuiv - Fianna Fail

Daragh O'Flaherty - Independent

Pauline O'Reilly - Green Party

Niall O Tuathail - Social Democrats

* Bold text represents incumbent TD