| 3.6°C Dublin

Galway East

Constituency Results

Galway East

Seats: 3

Watch the bogey shot

It all appears quite calm. Fianna Fáil's Anne Rabbitte in Portumna in the south, Fine Gael minister Ciarán Cannon in Athenry in the middle and Independent Sean Canney in Tuam in the north appear set to return. Fine Gael's Pete Roche posed a threat to Canney when his party was on a stronger footing. However, Sinn Féin's Louis O'Hara, a trophy-winning golfer from Athenry, would be a complete bogey shot if his party's surge brings him into contention. It's enormously unlikely.

On the ballot

Sean Canney - Independent

Ciaran Cannon - Fine Gael

Peter Roche - Fine Gael

Anne Rabbitte - Fianna Fail

Donagh Killilea - Fianna Fail

Louis O'Hara - Sinn Fein

David O'Reilly - Independent

Marian Spelman - Labour

Eoin Madden - Green Party

Peter Reid - Social Democrats

Martin 'Jonesy' Ward - Aontú

Deaglán MacCanna - Renua

* Bold text represents incumbent TD