| 2.8°C Dublin


Constituency Results


Seats: 5

Battle of Bailieborough

Sinn Féin's Matt Carthy and Fine Gael minister Heather Humphreys in Monaghan and Fianna Fáil's Brendan Smith in Cavan will all get elected comfortably.

The test then is to bring in a running mate. Fianna Fáil's Niamh Smyth has to see off Aontú's Sarah O'Reilly in the Battle of Bailieborough and any slippage sees her get overtaken by party running mate Robbie Gallagher in Monaghan.

Carthy has to manage the vote with Pauline Tully in Cavan, while Humphreys has a difficult task with getting enough votes to bring TP O'Reilly in Ballyjamesduff. It was a Fine Gael must gain, but momentum has swung to Sinn Féin. Theirs to lose.

On the ballot

Matt Carthy - Sinn Fein

Tate Donnelly - Green Party

Joseph Duffy - Independent

Robbie Gallagher - Fianna Fail

Heather Humphreys - Fine Gael

Sandra McIntyre - Fine Gael

Sarah O'Reilly - Aontú

TP O'Reilly - Fine Gael

Brendan Smith - Fianna Fail

Emmet Smith - Solidarity-People Before Profit

Niamh Smyth - Fianna Fail

Pauline Tully - Sinn Fein

Liam Van der Spek - Labour

* Bold text represents incumbent TD