Saturday 20 January 2018

Creighton loses out to Ryan and O'Callaghan

Eamon Ryan said he was delighted to be heading back to the Dáil as part of ‘a team’. Photo: Photocall Ireland
Eamon Ryan said he was delighted to be heading back to the Dáil as part of ‘a team’. Photo: Photocall Ireland
Luke Byrne

Luke Byrne

Renua Ireland's Lucinda Creighton told reporters she was "philosophical" about politics as her hopes of retaining a Dáil seat slipped away.

She had earlier entered the Dublin Bay South count at the RDS Simmonscourt to a strange chorus of both cheers and boos.

"You should have stayed in the party," one heckler shouted, as she entered to survey how things were panning out in the constituency.


And fears for her seat were well-founded, as the former Fine Gael TD was eliminated on the fifth count.

She had pulled 4,252 first preference votes, but after five rounds of transfers, she had reached just 4,820.

Ms Creighton had left the count centre before the vote was announced, but had previously said that the existence of Renua Ireland was not dependent on her retaining the seat.

The quota for the constituency was 7,941, but so close was the vote that only two candidates passed that, the Green Party's Eamon Ryan - who had pulled 8,788 by the seventh count - and Eoghan Murphy (FG), who took 8,023 in the same round.

It was a major win for poll-topper Mr Ryan, who lost his seat in the destruction of the Green Party at the last General Election.

He will head to the new Dáil alongside his party colleague Catherine Ward, who was elected in the Dublin Rathdown constituency.

He said he was delighted to be going back to Leinster House as "a team" and to see what will happen.

"All parties on the left should look to see what might be possible rather than ruling things out at the start," he said


But the eighth count saw more disappointment for the Labour Party, as sitting TD Kevin Humphreys lost his seat.

Mr Humphreys was left just short at 6,221.

He had already left the centre when the result was announced.

As the surplus from Mr Ryan was distributed, Fianna Fáil's Jim O'Callaghan and Fine Gael's Kate O'Connell were returned without reaching the quota in the four-seater.

They finished with 6,921 and 6,547 respectively.

"I would like to thank the people of Dublin Bay South for choosing me to represent them," Mr O'Callaghan said.

"I would also like to offer my commiserations to Lucinda Creighton and Kevin Humphreys, who have served the area well," he said.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News