Friday 6 December 2019

Dublin Mid-West: Sinn Féin tops the poll as only Frances Fitzgerald holds on to Dáil seat

Fine Gael's Frances Fitzgerald. Photo: Collins
Fine Gael's Frances Fitzgerald. Photo: Collins
Andrew Phelan

Andrew Phelan

Dublin Mid West saw three of its four sitting government party TDs lose their seats as Sinn Fein topped the poll.

The constituency returned two Fine Gael and two Labour TDs in the last general election but only Justice Minister Frances Fitzgerald held onto her seat this time.

Sinn Fein’s Eoin O’Broin was the poll topper, being elected on the first count, with 9,782 votes, followed by Frances Fitzgerald on 9,028.

Labour’s Joanna Tuffy lost her seat on the ninth count with 2,515 votes.

Outgoing Labour TD Robert Dowds had decided not to contest the election.

Fine Gael TD Derek Keating was eliminated on the 11th count, with a total of 4,179.

Fianna Fail's John Curran regained the seat he lost in 2011.

The former junior minister took the third seat with 9,497 votes on the 12th and final count.

The fourth seat was taken by People Before Profit/ Anti Austerity Alliance candidate Gino Kenny Kenny’s with 7,911 votes.

Online Editors

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News