Saturday 24 February 2018

What's in a name? QQI is a cert for students

Now is the time to assess your CAO application
Now is the time to assess your CAO application
Katherine Donnelly

Katherine Donnelly

Students and potential students will be familiar with FETAC and HETAC, the acronyms for the bodies that certified and awarded qualifications for further education or higher education programmes.

FETAC stands for Further Education and Training Awards Council while HETAC stands for Higher Education and Training Awards Council, and their logos appeared on certificates issued to students.

The functions of FETAC and HETAC have been taken over by a new national agency, Quality and Qualifications Ireland (QQI), which is also incorporating the responsibilities of the Irish Universities Quality Board.

QQI is responsible for the external quality assurance of further and higher education and training. It validates programmes and makes awards.

From this academic year, the QQI logo will replace the FETAC and HETAC logos on certificates issued to students.

All colleges that previously offered FETAC and HETAC certified courses have been updating their information, both online and in their literature, and replacing all references to FETAC and HETAC with QQI.

The name and logo change may cause some confusion to students who previously researched FETAC or HETAC courses, as they will not find reference to the former awarding bodies. However while the names of the awarding bodies and the logo will change, the qualifications remain the same.

Along with the new logo, and depending on the award, the new wording that will be on certificates issued to students from May 2015 will be: QQI Award - Further Education and Training Award or QQI Award - Higher Education and Training Award.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News