Tuesday 24 April 2018

Four primary schools in Dublin to operate co-ordinated admissions programme

Education Minister Jan O'Sullivan
Education Minister Jan O'Sullivan

Katherine Donnelly Education Editor

FOUR primary schools in Lucan, Co Dublin have come together operate a co-ordinated admissions system.

The four Educate Together schools,  Adamstown Castle ETNS, Esker ETNS, Griffeen Valley ETNS and Lucan East want to end the situation in which children are forced to crisscross all over Lucan to attend a school that is not necessarily their nearest one.

Under the new system, which prioritises students based on age, newcomer families will no longer be disproportionally disadvantaged in accessing schools.

Parents will make an application to the system, which will be run by a committee of representatives from the boards of management of each of the four schools. Children on the system will be assigned to one of the four schools based on age,  whether they have a sibling  in the school and proximity to a school.

This is the first time that a common enrolment system has been used by Educate Together schools

Online Editors

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News