| 5.6°C Dublin

Diocese of Cloyne

•Catchment area in excess of 250,000.

Bishop based at St Colman's Cathedral in Cobh. Major population centres include Youghal, Cobh, Midleton, Fermoy, Mitchelstown, Mallow and Kanturk. Parts of the diocese circle Cork city suburbs.

•Boasts in excess of 100 parishes.

•Diocese run by total of 133 clerics.

•Of these, 116 have already been garda vetted -- with one application currently being processed. Of the remaining 16, all involve retired priests, priests out of ministry or clerics on long-term overseas duties.

•Dr John Magee was bishop from March 1987 to March 2010. His final 12 months was spent assisting the Murphy Report outside of diocesan administrative duties.

•Archbishop Dr Dermot Clifford of Cashel & Emly has been Apostolic Administrator of Cloyne for the past two years.

•Church says appointment of a new bishop is "imminent" -- but cannot say precisely when the Vatican will confirm a candidate.

Irish Independent