| 17.5°C Dublin

21 lorry drivers to share up to €100k over interruptions to rest periods






Twenty-one lorry drivers will share an employer’s handout of between €70,000 and €100,000 for interruptions to what they claim should have been uninterrupted weekly rest periods.

The men are drivers for Stobart (Ireland) Driver Services Limited, headquartered at Bond Drive Extension, Dublin Port, and took claim appeals to the Labour Court. Their employer provides drivers for major hauliers in Ireland.

The appeals were handled by their union, the Services Industrial Professional and Technical Union (SIPTU) and they were awarded compensation ranging from €3,500 to €5,000 under the Organisation of Working Time Act 1997.

Applications had been made today to the Circuit Civil Court for orders enforcing the various decisions of the Labour Court but Killian O’Brien of Bowler Geraghty and Co, Solicitors, told Judge Jacqueline Linnane that the applications could be struck out with orders for costs to be taxed in default of agreement.

The complainants had argued before the Labour Court that they were not being provided with uninterrupted breaks between shifts within the meaning of Section 13 of the Act. The awards had also related to night duties (Section 16) and the provision of information regarding work periods (Section 17).

The drivers had claimed they were required to phone Stobart (Ireland) Driver Services during rest periods to establish the time at which their next shift would commence and often had to ring several times before they would be given the relevant information.

Each call, SIPTU claimed, amounted to an interruption of what was to be an uninterrupted rest break which could not then be considered an uninterrupted and unbroken period of rest.

The 21 drivers, all with addresses at SIPTU, Liberty Hall, Dublin 1, are Paul Canavan, Darius Bochis, Gerard Harkin, Peter Nea, Derek Kavanagh, Robert Magy, Kenneth Grey, David Conroy, Tom Moloney, Patrick Doolin, Jack Flood, Scott Hazel, Lar Callery, Albert O’Toole, Pat Kelly, Robert Kennedy, Mark Dardis, Brendan Farrell, Billy Bligh and Jacek Garbiec.

Judge Linnane struck out the 21 applications and made an award for legal costs.

Online Editors