Saturday 21 April 2018

Constitution body reveals its members

TAOISEACH Enda Kenny's home county of Mayo is one of six with no ordinary member of the public picked to be on the new Constitutional thinktank.

The Constitutional Convention last night finally revealed the identity of the members of the body tasked with coming up with changes to the Constitution.

The convention is made up of 34 politicians and 66 ordinary citizens. After a number of dropouts, the names of 60 of the ordinary members were listed.

The breakdown shows there are no members from four counties in the West of Ireland: Mayo, Leitrim, Donegal and Clare, along with two more in the midlands, Longford and Laois.

The citizens were selected randomly by a polling company using the electoral register and on the basis of groups representative of Irish society generally, and balanced in terms of age, gender and region.

Irish Independent

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox every morning.

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News