Tuesday 16 January 2018

11 candidates on ballot paper for Meath by-election

Fiach Kelly Political Correspondent

NOMINATIONS for the Meath East by-election closed this afternoon, and 11 candidates will be on the ballot paper when voters go to the polls on March 27.

All candidates have until noon tomorrow to withdraw their names.

The candidates are Fine Gael’s Helen McEntee; Fianna Fail senator Thomas Byrne; Cllr Eoin Holmes of the Labour Party; Sinn Fein’s Darren O Rourke; Sean O Buachalla of the Greens; Seamus McDonagh of the Workers’ Party and Ben Gilroy of Direct Democracy Ireland.

The Independents contesting the election are Charlie Keddy, Mick Martin, Jim Tallon and Gearoid O’Brien.

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox every morning.

Promoted Links

Editor's Choice

Also in Irish News