Saturday 17 February 2018

RTÉ2 to broadcast highlights of Meteor Choice Music Prize with U2, Hozier and Sinead O’Connor

U2 Newsdesk Newsdesk

The show is set to feature exclusive interviews with a whole host of Irish musicians.

Eoghan McDermott and Blathnaid Treacy will present coverage of the 10th Meteor Choice Music Prize on RTÉ2, Sunday 8 March at 10.50pm.


The one-hour highlights show will include exclusive interviews with nominees Hozier, Sinead O’Connor and The Edge and Adam Clayton from U2.

Viewers will be treated to performances from Delorentos, James Vincent McMorrow, The Riptide Movement and We Cut Corners recorded live at Vicar St in Dublin.

Eoghan and Blathnaid will interview nominees on the night of the event and present coverage of the final award presentation, when one of 10 acts will win this year's Meteor Choice Music Prize.

The 10th annual Meteor Choice Music Prize celebrates and acknowledges the best in Irish recorded music. The overall winning Album of the Year will be announced at the Meteor Choice Music Prize live event at Vicar St on Thursday, 5 March 2015.

The Meteor Choice Music Prize album shortlist:

Aphex Twin – Syro (Warp)

Delorentos – Night Becomes Light (Universal Ireland)

The Gloaming – The Gloaming (Real World)

Hozier – Hozier (Rubyworks/Universal)

James Vincent McMorrow – Post Tropical (Faction)

Sinead O’ Connor – I’m Not Bossy, I’m The Boss (Nettwerk)

Damien Rice – My Favourite Faded Fantasy (Warner Music)

The Riptide Movement – Getting Through (Universal Ireland)

U2 – Songs of Innocence (Island)

We Cut Corners – Think Nothing (Delphi)

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Entertainment Newsletter

Going out? Staying in? From great gigs to film reviews and listings, entertainment has you covered.

Promoted Links

Editors Choice

Also in Entertainment