Wednesday 23 October 2019

Slash wins album of year award

Slash, left, performed on stage with Alter Bridge at the Marshall Classic Rock Roll of Honour
Slash, left, performed on stage with Alter Bridge at the Marshall Classic Rock Roll of Honour

Slash has been rewarded with the album of the year title for his solo debut at the Classic Rock awards.

The former Guns N' Roses guitarist triumphed for his self-titled album, beating releases by artists such as Kiss, Wolfmother, Iron Maiden and Gaslight Anthem.

Veteran act AC/DC were named band of the year at the event, which is officially titled the Marshall Classic Rock Roll Of Honour Awards.

The Aussie rock act - fronted by British singer Brian Johnson - are still one of the world's biggest live draws 37 years after forming and enjoyed a number one album for their Iron Man 2 soundtrack.

Stars who have featured among the line-ups of pioneering heavy rock act Black Sabbath were individually awarded three honorary titles at the bash, staged at the Roundhouse in Camden, north London.

Late singer Ronnie James Dio was awarded the Tommy Vance Inspiration prize, while bass player Geezer Butler was named "metal guru". Glenn Hughes - who has played with Deep Purple and briefly fronted Sabbath in the mid 1980s - was given the Childline Rocks award.

Led Zeppelin's John Paul Jones - now one-third of rock supergroup Them Crooked Vultures, alongside Dave Grohl and Josh Homme - was honoured for his outstanding contribution.

Shock-rocker Alice Cooper and TV presenter Sarah Cawood hosted the 6th awards organised by Classic Rock magazine.

Canadian rock trio Rush were presented with the Living Legend award. Frontman Geddy Lee picked up the prize.

Roy Wood - who has charted with The Move, ELO and Wizzard over the years - won the classic songwriter prize. And post-punk band Killing Joke - which was the springboard for composer Jaz Coleman and producer Youth - won the inspiration prize.

PA Media

Editors Choice

Also in Entertainment

Back to top