Entertainment Music

Monday 11 December 2017

Six acts bid to bring X Factor to UK's Eurovision entry

Danyl Johnson will take part in Eurovision: You Decide
Danyl Johnson will take part in Eurovision: You Decide

Six former X Factor hopefuls will vie to represent the United Kingdom at this year's Eurovision Song Contest, including former semi-finalist Danyl Johnson.

Johnson and fellow 2009 contestant Lucie Jones are hoping for glory along with 2012 hopeful Salena Mastroianni, 2015 auditionee Holly Brewer and 2016 contestants Olivia Garcia and Nate Simpson.

The singers will compete to be chosen by the voting public and a jury to represent the UK at the annual music event, which will take place in Kiev, Ukraine, in May.

Johnson came in fourth place behind eventual winner Joe McElderry in 2009, although he made his mark with his memorable first audition, a cover of With A Little Help From My Friends by The Beatles.

His Eurovision track is entitled Light Up The World and will go up against the other songs, including Jones's ballad Never Give Up On You.

Mastroianni's effort is called I Don't Wanna Fight, while recent X Factor hopefuls Simpson and Garcia are competing with tracks called What Are We Made Of and Freedom Hearts respectively.

Brewer, who has previously supported acts including McFly and Jess Glynne in concert, finishes the line-up with her song I Wish I Loved You More.

The six artists and songs were revealed on Monday on Ken Bruce's BBC Radio 2 show ahead of the Eurovision: You Decide event on January 27.

The 90-minute UK selection show will be hosted by former Great British Bake Off presenter Mel Giedroyc at London's Eventim Apollo and will be broadcast live on BBC Two.

Each act will perform their song in front of a live audience before the public vote is opened, and the champion will be chosen with a combination of public and jury votes.

The eight-person jury includes singer Sophie Ellis-Bextor and Strictly Come Dancing judge Bruno Tonioli.

Following last year's vote to leave the European Union, there were fears the UK would no longer be able to take part in Eurovision, but being a member of the EU is not a necessity for the contest.

Last year's UK hopefuls Joe and Jake came a disappointing 24th out of 26 in the contest with their pop song You're Not Alone.

:: Eurovision: You Decide takes place on Friday January 27 at 7.30pm and will air on BBC Two

Press Association

Promoted Links

Entertainment Newsletter

Going out? Staying in? From great gigs to film reviews and listings, entertainment has you covered.

Promoted Links

Editors Choice

Also in Entertainment