Monday 23 April 2018

Prince backing band singer dedicates Jazz FM Awards performance to star

Liv Warfield was a former member of Prince's backing band The New Power Generation
Liv Warfield was a former member of Prince's backing band The New Power Generation
Quincy Jones picked up an award

A former member of Prince's backing band The New Power Generation has paid tribute to him with a performance at this year's Jazz FM Awards.

Soul singer Liv Warfield, who credits the Purple Rain singer as being her mentor, dedicated a performance of her song BlackBird to the superstar musician at the annual event held at London's Bloomsbury Ballroom.

Lyrics to the song, which refer to the Beatles hit also called Blackbird, include: "Paul McCartney got it wrong / I ain't never want no song / I ain't special; I ain't strong / I'm just a Black ... bird".

The awards, now in their third year, honour the highest achievers from the world of jazz, blues and soul.

The music world is still mourning Prince's shock death at the age of 57 last week, with the latest reports suggesting he had stayed awake for 154 hours before he died.

International superstar Quincy Jones was honoured with The PPL Lifetime Achievement Award and thanked Jazz FM via a video message.

He said: "What can I say Jazz FM? I'm so moved ... To be so young and receive an award like this it's astounding. I'm only 83 man! It's with great honour and pride that I'd like to say thank you and show you my gratitude and my respect and love, I really appreciate it, thank you. It always feels good man!"

American singer Gregory Porter picked up the Impact Award, which is awarded to a jazz artist who has made a lasting impression on the music scene globally.

Here is the full list of winners:

:: Instrumentalist of the Year

Mark Lockheart

:: Soul Artist of the Year

Jill Scott

:: Breakthrough Act of the Year

Binker & Moses

:: Blues Artist of the Year

Gary Clark Jr.

:: Vocalist of the Year

Lauren Kinsella

:: International Artist Of The Year

Kamasi Washington

:: Album Of The Year

Hiatus Kaiyote

:: UK Jazz Act of the Year

Binker & Moses

:: Digital Initiative of the Year

Jacob Collier

:: Jazz Innovation of the Year

Christian Scott aTunde Adjuah

:: Live Experience of the Year - Pubic Vote

Ice-T and Ron McCurdy - The Langston Hughes Project at the Barbican

:: Impact Award

Gregory Porter

:: PPL Lifetime Achievement Award

Quincy Jones

Press Association

Entertainment Newsletter

Going out? Staying in? From great gigs to film reviews and listings, entertainment has you covered.

Editors Choice

Also in Entertainment