Entertainment Music

Wednesday 21 February 2018

Northern Ireland Music Prize shortlist announced

Foy Vance is on the shortlist
Foy Vance is on the shortlist

The 12 albums in the running for the Northern Ireland Music Prize have been announced.

The winner will be unveiled at a ceremony at the Mandela Hall in Belfast on November 11.

Previous winning artists include Foy Vance and SOAK.

More than 70 judges from the local music industry have been invited to cast their votes for the best collection of the last year.

Charlotte Dryden, chief executive of the Oh Yeah Music Centre in Belfast, said: "The last 12 months have seen so many outstanding records from Northern Ireland.

"Some of our favourite acts are in there but importantly there are quite a few debut albums also. Our music community is clearly in good health and this is set to be another rousing celebration."

Downpatrick rockers Ash are being honoured with the Oh Yeah legend award on the night. The band will perform their 1977 album to mark its 20th anniversary.

The 2016 Northern Ireland Music Prize shortlist:

The Bonnevilles - Arrow Pierce My Heart

Ciaran Lavery - Let Bad In

David C Clements - The Longest Day In History

Documenta - Drone Pop #1

Exmagician - Scan The Blue

Foy Vance - The Wild Swan

Girls Names - Arms Around A Vision

Jealous Of The Birds - Parma Violets

Michael Mormecha - LOFi LiFE

Ports - The Devil Is A Songbird

Ryan Vail - For Every Silence

Sea Pinks - Soft Days

The NI Music Prize In Association With Blue Moon is produced by the Oh Yeah Music Centre and is also supported by the Arts Council of Northern Ireland.

The event will include live music from Ports, Jealous Of The Birds and Girls Names.

Press Association

Promoted Links

Entertainment Newsletter

Going out? Staying in? From great gigs to film reviews and listings, entertainment has you covered.

Promoted Links

Editors Choice

Also in Entertainment