Wednesday 18 September 2019

Picture This, Imelda May, Kodaline and more record 'The Joshua Tree - New Roots' album in aid of children's hospice

Instagram @ImeldaMay
Instagram @ImeldaMay
Imelda May
Aoife Kelly

Aoife Kelly

A host of top Irish music stars have recorded an album of U2 classics in aid of LauraLynn, Ireland's Children's Hospice.

The Joshua Tree - New Roots is a 12 track collection with artists including Kodaline, The Strypes, Imelda May and Picture This taking on songs from U2's classic 1987 album The Joshua Tree.

New artist Lyra sings Mothers of The Disappeared while Picture This perform With or Without You.  Hit Cavan band The Strypes tackle Trip Through Your Wires and Imelda May gives a stunning accapella version of I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For.

The phenomenally successful Gavin James gives a solo version of The Streets Have No Name while new star Aine Cahill performs Red Hill Minin Town and Irish bands All Tvvins, The Academic, The Coronas and Kodaline perform Bullet the Blue Sky, In God's Country, One Tree Hill, and Running To Stand Still respectively.

The Joshua Tree - New Roots released Oct 27, Universal Music Ireland
The Joshua Tree - New Roots released Oct 27, Universal Music Ireland

There is also a bonus track courtesy of U2 themselves.  It's an exclusive live performance of Reed Hill Mining Town which was recorded in Amsterdam from the band's recent The Joshua Tree Tour 2017.

Universal Music Ireland and RTE 2FM are behind the album and Paul Russell, Deputy Head of 2FM thanks "Larry Mullen for joining the dots together in the early stages."

LauraLynn is Ireland’s only Children’s Hospice caring for children, from birth to 18 years old, with life limiting conditions and helping their families to cope.

Speaking about the record U2 said, "The songs on The Joshua Tree have travelled well with us over the 30 years. It’s been a privilege to take them out around the world again on The Joshua Tree tour 2017, but what an honour to hear them revisited on The Joshua Tree - New Roots record.

"As a band we’ve always been fans of playing and learning other people’s songs. What a thrill to get that treatment in reverse from such a wonderfully diverse roll-call of Irish singers and bands, especially since many were not born when The Joshua Tree was first released 30 years ago. We thank you for your versions of our songs. We love you LauraLynn and the ceaseless work you do."

Sharon Morrow, CEO LauraLynn, Ireland’s Children’s Hospice said, “We are thrilled to have been chosen as the charity partner for this fantastic initiative by 2FM and Universal Music Ireland; not just because it will help raise vital funds to allow us provide hospice care and support families who desperately need it but also because the children have had so much fun in the process…designing artwork…making precious memories.  And that’s what it’s all about."

The collection is available on CD, download and to stream from October 27th 2017.

Full Track Listing is as follows;

1.  Gavin James - Where The Streets Have No Name

2.  Imelda May - I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For

3.  Picture This - With or Without You

4.  All Tvvins - Bullet the Blue Sky

5.  Kodaline - Running To Stand Still

6.  Aine Cahill - Red Hill Mining Town

7.   The Academic - In God’s Country

8.  The Strypes - Trip Through Your Wires

9.  The Coronas - One Tree Hill

10.  Fangclub Exit

11.  Lyra - Mothers of the Disappeared

12.  U2 - Red Hill Mining Town – Live version

Online Editors

Editors Choice

Also in Entertainment

Back to top