Wednesday 26 June 2019

Hozier announces release date and tracklist for new album 'Wasteland Baby!'

Aoife Kelly

Aoife Kelly

Hozier has finally announced the release date of his highly anticipated new album 'Wasteland Baby!'.

His 14 track second album is set for release on March 1 on Island Records, coming almost four years after his critically acclaimed self-titled debut, which has sold four million copies worldwide.

The album comes in the wake of his hugely successful Nina Cried Power EP, which features multi-Grammy award winning artist Mavis Staples and instrumentation by Booker T Jones.

The EP's title track also opens Wasteland Baby! while his current single Movement also features in the tracklist.  That single has been streamed over 21 million times in just two months.

Wasteland Baby! by Hozier
Wasteland Baby! by Hozier

The album announcement also coincides with the release of a new track, Almost (Sweet Music), on streaming services and when you pre-order the album.

“I’m thrilled to announce my new album Wasteland, Baby!" said the Wicklow artist.

"The album has been over a year in the making and it’s a pleasure to finally turn out my pockets and share the work. I want to sincerely thank fans and listeners for their continued support in between the records. See you out on the road soon.”

Tickets are on sale via Ticketmaster for his upcoming show at Irish Independent Park in Cork on June 22.

Hozier gained global recognition following the release of his triple platinum single Take Me To Church in 2015.  It was nominated for 'Song of the Year' at the Grammys that year and won 'Song of the Year' at the Ivor Novello Awards, as well as 'Song of the Year' at the BBC Music Awards, and 'Top Rock Song' at the 2015 Billboard Music Awards, where he also won 'Top Rock Artist'.

Full tracklisting of Wasteland Baby! below.

1 - Nina Cried Power (featuring Mavis Staples)

2 - Almost (Sweet Music)

3 - Movement

4 - No Plan

5 - Nobody

6 - To Noise Making (Sing)

7 - As It Was

8 - Shrike

9 - Talk Refined

10 - Be

11 - Dinner & Diatribes

12 - Would That I

13 - Sunlight

14 - Wasteland, Baby!

Online Editors

Editors Choice

Also in Entertainment

Back to top