Friday 24 November 2017

Gavin James, Roisin Murphy, SOAK in running for Choice Music Prize Album of the Year

Roisin Murphy
Roisin Murphy
Aoife Kelly

Aoife Kelly

The shortlist for the Choice Music Prize Irish Album of the Year 2015 has been announced.

Among the nominees are Girl Band, Gavin James, Le Galaxie, Roisin Murphy and Villagers.  Also in the running are Ham Sandwich, Jape, Colm Mac Con Iomaire, SOAK and Young Wonder.

The winner, selected by the judging panel of 12 Irish music media professionals and industry experts, will be announced at the Choice Music Prize Live Event at Vicar St, Dublin on Thursday March 3.

The event will be broadcast on Today FM i a special four hour extended Paul McLoone show.

The winning act will receive €10,000, a prize fund which has been provided by the Irish Music Rights Organisation (IMRO) and the Irish Recorded Music Association (IRMA).

Tickets for the Choice Music Prize live event are on sale from Ticketmaster priced €25.50 including booking fee.


Here's the shortlist:


Girl Band

Holding Hands with Jamie

(Rough Trade)



Gavin James

Bitter Pill

(Warner Music Ireland)

gavin bitter.jpg


Le Galaxie

Le Club

(Universal Music Ireland)

le club.jpg


Roisin Murphy

Hairless Toys

(Play It Again Sam)

DG roisin murphy.jpg
Roisin Murphy album cover for Hairless Toys



Darling Arithmetic


villagers darling arithmetic.jpg


Ham Sandwich

Stories From The Surface

(Route 109A Records)

ham sandwich.jpg



This Chemical Sea

(Faction Records)

jape this chemical sea.jpg


Colm Mac Con Iomaire

And Now The Weather





Before We Forgot How To Dream  

(Rough Trade)



Young Wonder


(Feel Good Lost)




Online Editors

Promoted Links

Entertainment Newsletter

Going out? Staying in? From great gigs to film reviews and listings, entertainment has you covered.

Promoted Links

Editors Choice

Also in Entertainment