Entertainment Music

Tuesday 24 April 2018

Jess Glynne and Amy Wadge pick up two awards at ceremony

Jess Glynne received two major awards from Ascap
Jess Glynne received two major awards from Ascap

Singers Jess Glynne and Amy Wadge have both been given double music awards alongside the likes of Duran Duran, Sir Paul McCartney and Coldplay.

The Ascap (American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers) ceremony in London on Thursday night gave out a number of awards to top names in the entertainment industry for their contribution to music.

Glynne took home the Vanguard award, recognising innovation in music, and the EDM Song award for her debut solo single Hold My Hand, which held the number one single spot for three weeks running after it was released last year.

Wadge received both the Song of the Year and Top Digital Song awards for her Grammy award-winning hit Thinking Out Loud, co-written with Ed Sheeran.

One of Ascap's most prestigious honours for milestones achieved by musicians, the Golden Note award, went to "multi-platinum pop visionaries" Duran Duran.

The writers behind Zayn Malik's Pillowtalk, Anthony Hannides, Michael Hannides, Levi Lennox and Joe Garrett, picked up the Global Impact award after the former One Direction's debut single reached number one across the globe.

Sir Paul McCartney's Fourfiveseconds and Ella Henderson's Ghost were both recognised in the Ascap Hot 100 Winning Songs.

The full list of Ascap 2016 award winners included:

:: ASCAP Golden Note Award - Duran Duran

:: ASCAP Vanguard Award - Jess Glynne

:: ASCAP Vanguard Award - MNEK

:: ASCAP Global Impact Award - Anthony Hannides, Michael Hannides, Levi Lennox, Joe Garrett (Pillowtalk by Zayn Malik)

:: ASCAP Song of the Year - Amy Wadge (Thinking Out Loud by Ed Sheeran)

:: ASCAP Top Digital Song - Amy Wadge (Thinking Out Loud by Ed Sheeran)

:: ASCAP Top EDM Song - James Newman (Blame by Calvin Harris ft. John Newman)

:: ASCAP Film Score of the Year - Patrick Doyle (Cinderella)

:: ASCAP EDM Song Award - Jess Glynne (Hold My Hand)

:: ASCAP Hot 100 Winning Songs included: Thomas William Raybould (The Hills by The Weeknd); Lloyd Oliver Wills, Everton Bonner (Post To Be by Omarion ft. Chris Brown & Jhene Aiko); Sir Paul McCartney (FOURFIVESECONDS by Rihanna, Kanye West & Paul McCartney); Joel Pott (Budapest by George Ezra); Ella Henderson (Ghost by Ella Henderson).

:: ASCAP EDM Winning Songs included: Chris Martin, Guy Berryman, Jonny Buckland, Will Champion (A Sky Full of Stars by Coldplay); Olly Alexander, Mikey Goldsworthy, Emre Turkmen (King by Years And Years); Marli Harwood (Stole The Show by Kygo ft. Parson James); Philip Bentley (Secrets by Tiesto & KSHMR ft. Vassy).

:: ASCAP Top Film Music Awards included: Lorne Balfe (Home (2015), Terminator Genisys); Daniel Pemberton (The Man From U.N.C.L.E); Martin Phipps (Woman In Gold); Ben Salisbury, Geoff Barrow (Ex Machina);

:: ASCAP Top Television Series Awards included: Julian Gingell, Barry Stone (American Idol (Fox)); Daniel McGrath, Josh Phillips (Dancing With The Stars (ABC)); John Lunn (Downtown Abbey (PBS)).

Press Association

Entertainment Newsletter

Going out? Staying in? From great gigs to film reviews and listings, entertainment has you covered.

Editors Choice

Also in Entertainment