Wednesday 13 December 2017

Blur reveal new release details

Blur are releasing their first record for seven years
Blur are releasing their first record for seven years

Blur have revealed their first release of new material for seven years will be just one song - on single-sided vinyl.

The limited edition release - only 1,000 copies will be pressed - will be called Fool's Day and will come out on Saturday.

The recording, made earlier this month, is the first to feature all four members since Battery In Your Leg from the album Think Tank, released in 2003.

Guitarist Graham Coxon left the band during the recording of that album but returned for a set of reunion shows last year.

The single - in a minimal blue sleeve - is being issued on seven-inch vinyl by label Parlophone to mark Saturday's Record Shop Day. It will be available only at independent record shops.

Frontman Damon Albarn said of the release: "We want independent record stores to continue - they're an important part of our musical culture. Music is a simple way for Blur to show our support and we hope people like it."

The aim of Record Shop Day is to highlight the continuing contribution of indie stores to music.

Spencer Hickman, a spokesman for the event, said: "This release just shows how big Record Shop Day has become and I for one can't wait to be in the thick of the action come Saturday morning."

A series of limited 7-inch singles are being released by Parlophone Records to support the day. The vinyl records, in vintage-style wrapping, include tracks by Bat For Lashes, Pet Shop Boys, Hot Chip, Babyshambles and Lily Allen. The Beatles' classic Paperback Writer will also be released in this way.

Press Association

Promoted Links

Entertainment Newsletter

Going out? Staying in? From great gigs to film reviews and listings, entertainment has you covered.

Promoted Links

Editors Choice

Also in Entertainment