Saturday 17 February 2018

Ash releasing new album Kablammo

Tim Wheeler and Rick McMurray of Ash on MTV
Tim Wheeler and Rick McMurray of Ash on MTV

Downpatrick rockers Ash are to release their first album for eight years.

Cocoon, the first single from forthcoming album Kablammo, has gone online.

Drummer Rick McMurray said: "After a wait of eight years, and a long string of singles, we've gone on to do what we said we would never do again: we've only gone and recorded a brand new album."

The band will tour this summer to Dublin, Belfast, Edinburgh and Manchester.

Ash were formed in 1992 by vocalist and guitarist Tim Wheeler, McMurray and bassist Mark Hamilton.

They have supported U2 in the past.

McMurray added: "We set out to capture the live essence of Ash. The closest sonic predecessor would be 2004's Meltdown, with the songwriting of the Free All Angels singles.

"We've stripped away the electronic overtones of the A-Z series and made a streamlined, blazing guitar record."

Press Association

Promoted Links

Entertainment Newsletter

Going out? Staying in? From great gigs to film reviews and listings, entertainment has you covered.

Promoted Links

Editors Choice

Also in Entertainment