Saturday 7 December 2019

Brooklyn and Emma Donoghue honoured at Evening Standard British Film Awards

Nominee: Saoirse Ronan in the film ‘Brooklyn’
Nominee: Saoirse Ronan in the film ‘Brooklyn’
Aoife Kelly

Aoife Kelly

Irish film Brooklyn triumphed at the Evening Standard British Film Awards on Sunday night as it bagged the coveted award for Best Film.

John Crowley's movie, starring Saoirse Ronan as an Irish immigrant in New York, and based on the novel by Colm Toibin, has also been nominated for Best Film at the Oscars and Baftas.

Saoirse is also up for Best Actress at the Oscars and Baftas having already won the Best Actress gong at the British Independent Film Awards.

Irish author Emma Donoghue won the Best Screenplay award for the screenplay for Lenny Abrahamson's Room, which was based on her best-selling novel.

Idris Elba won Best Actor at the awards for his performance in Beasts of No Nation while Dame Maggie Smith won Best Actress for The Lady in the Van.  Both Elba and Smith are up for Best Actor and Actress at the Baftas on February 14.

Full winners list:

Best Film - Brooklyn

Best Actor - Idris Elba - Beasts of No Nation

Best Actress - Dame Maggie Smith - The Lady in the Van

Best Documentary - Amy

Blockbuster of the Year - Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Editor's Award - 45 Years

Best Screenplay - Emma Donaghue - Room

Rising Star - Maisie Williams - The Falling

Comedy Award - Emma Thompson - The Legend of Barney Thomson

Technical Achievement - Mark Digby - production designer, Ex-Machina

Outstanding Contribution - Alan Bennett

Online Editors

Editors Choice

Also in Entertainment

Back to top