Entertainment Movies

Tuesday 23 January 2018

Bonham Carter to get film award

Helena Bonham Carter is to receive an award
Helena Bonham Carter is to receive an award

Helena Bonham Carter and Liam Neeson are this year's recipients of two Moet British Independent Film Awards.

The King's Speech star Helena will receive the coveted Richard Harris Award and The Hangover Part II actor Liam will be presented with The Variety Award at a glitzy ceremony next month.

The Richard Harris Award was introduced in 2003 in honour of the hell-raising film legend and recognises outstanding contribution to British film by an actor.

Previous winners have included John Hurt, David Thewlis, Bob Hoskins, Jim Broadbent and most recently Daniel Day-Lewis in 2009.

The Variety Award recognises an actor, director, writer or producer who has helped to focus the international spotlight on the UK.

Previous winners include Sir Michael Caine last year, and JK Rowling, Helen Mirren, Richard Curtis, Michael Sheen and Keira Knightley.

Helena's credits have included A Room with a View, Corpse Bride, Hamlet, Howards End, Sweeney Todd, Wallace And Gromit: The Curse Of The Were Rabbit, the Harry Potter franchise and Alice In Wonderland

Liam's credits include Schindler's List, Husbands And Wives, Rob Roy, Michael Collin, Batman Begins, Taken, Love Actually, Gangs Of New York, Clash Of The Titans and The A-Team.

The Moet British Independent Film Awards will take place on Sunday, December 5, in London.

Press Association

Promoted Links

Entertainment Newsletter

Going out? Staying in? From great gigs to film reviews and listings, entertainment has you covered.

Promoted Links

Editors Choice

Also in Entertainment