Monday 23 April 2018

And the BAFTA nominees are....

The Bafta Awards are being held at the Royal Opera House in Covent Garden, central London, tonight. Here are the contenders for the main categories:

Best Film


12 Years A Slave


American Hustle


Captain Phillips






Leading Actor


Bruce Dern for Nebraska


Chiwetel Ejiofor for 12 Years A Slave


Christian Bale for American Hustle


Leonardo DiCaprio for The Wolf Of Wall Street


Tom Hanks for Captain Phillips


Leading Actress


Amy Adams for American Hustle


Cate Blanchett for Blue Jasmine


Emma Thompson for Saving Mr Banks


Judi Dench for Philomena


Sandra Bullock for Gravity


Supporting Actor


Barkhad Abdi for Captain Phillips


Bradley Cooper for American Hustle


Daniel Bruhl for Rush


Matt Damon for Behind The Candelabra


Michael Fassbender for 12 Years A Slave

Supporting Actress


Jennifer Lawrence for American Hustle


Julia Roberts for August: Osage County


Lupita Nyong'o for 12 Years A Slave


Oprah Winfrey for The Butler


Sally Hawkins for Blue Jasmine



Steve McQueen for 12 Years A Slave


David O.Russell for American Hustle


Paul Greengrass for Captain Phillips


Alfonso Cuaron for Gravity


Martin Scorsese for The Wolf Of Wall Street


Outstanding British Film




Mandela: Long Walk To Freedom






Saving Mr Banks


The Selfish Giant

Outstanding Debut by a British writer, director or producer


Colin Carberry and Glenn Patterson for Good Vibrations


Kelly Marcel for Saving Mr Banks


Kieran Evans for Kelly + Victor


Paul Wright and Polly Stokes for For Those In Peril


Scott Graham for Shell

Film not in the English language


The Act Of Killing


Blue Is The Warmest Colour


The Great Beauty


Metro Manila Wadjda




The Act Of Killing


The Armstrong Lie




Tim's Vermeer


We Steal Secrets: The Story Of Wikileaks

Animated Film


Despicable Me 2




Monsters University


Original Screenplay


Eric Warren Singer and David O. Russell for American Hustle


Woody Allen for Blue Jasmine


Alfonso and Jonas Cuaron for Gravity


Joel and Ethan Coen for Inside Llewyn Davis


Bob Nelson for Nebraska


Adapted Screenplay


John Ridley for 12 Years A Slave


Richard LaGravenese for Behind The Candelabra


Billy Ray for Captain Phillips


Steve Coogan and Jeff Pope for Philomena


Terence Winter for The Wolf Of Wall Street

Original Music


Hans Zimmer for 12 Years A Slave


John Williams for The Book Thief


Henry Jackman for Captain Phillips


Steven Price for Gravity


Thomas Newman for Saving Mr Banks

Press Association

Entertainment Newsletter

Going out? Staying in? From great gigs to film reviews and listings, entertainment has you covered.

Editors Choice

Also in Entertainment