Monday 19 February 2018

Going Radio Gaga at 2016 PPI awards

Comedian and radio DJ Dermot Whelan Photo: Anthony Woods
Comedian and radio DJ Dermot Whelan Photo: Anthony Woods Newsdesk Newsdesk

The kings and queens of the airwaves headed to the Marble City for the 12th annual PPI Awards.

Comedian and radio DJ Dermot Whelan presented the awards, which were attended by more than 700 guests.

As luck would have it, Whelan and his co-host Dave Moore won the General Music Programme category.

Derek Mooney's The Dawn Chorus on RTÉ 1 was winner of the Innovation category.

Newstalk's Goin' Straight won Best Drama while RTE show Wants A Word secured Best Comedy.

Cork FM's KC Show was named the Best Music Breakfast Programme. Newstalk's Joe Molloy was awarded the Sports Broadcaster of the Year award, while Sean Moncrieff took home Best Speech Broadcaster of the Year.

RTÉ's Justin McCarthy was named News Reporter of the Year. Earlier in the year, Dave Fanning and Ian Dempsey were added to the PPI Hall of Fame.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Entertainment Newsletter

Going out? Staying in? From great gigs to film reviews and listings, entertainment has you covered.

Promoted Links

Editors Choice

Also in Entertainment