Entertainment Games

Saturday 16 December 2017

Rainbow Six Siege's post-launch maps will be free to download

Rainbow Six Siege
Rainbow Six Siege

Emma Clark

Ubisoft has committed to making Rainbow Six Siege's post-launch maps free to download. It's all part of a long-term plan, which will be detailed later.

Rainbow Six Siege will launch with 11 maps, but Ubisoft said that post-launch maps will be free.

In a post on Reddit, Community Developer at Ubisoft Montreal, Genevieve Forget (a.k.a. livinpink) told fans that all post-launch maps will be available to download for free.

She explained that Ubisoft wants players “to stay with us for the long term.” She also hinted that there are “ambitious post-launch plans” in place, but Ubisoft will detail these at a later stage.

There will be 11 maps available to play initially, each of which can be played in daylight or at night. All of these maps will take advantage of Ubisoft’s Real Blast destruction technology, which will let players get the drop on their opponents in a variety of ways.

Rainbow Six Siege will be released on December 1st. A closed beta will start on September 24th. You can earn access to this beta by participating in the Art of Siege online training.

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Entertainment Newsletter

Going out? Staying in? From great gigs to film reviews and listings, entertainment has you covered.

Promoted Links

Editors Choice

Also in Entertainment