Sunday 21 April 2019

Crime writer on Man Booker Prize judging panel

The winner of the £50,000 prize will be announced on October 16.

Crime writer Val McDermid (Man Booker)
Crime writer Val McDermid (Man Booker)

By Sherna Noah, Press Association Senior Entertainment Correspondent

Crime writer Val McDermid and philosopher Kwame Anthony Appiah are among the judges of next year’s Man Booker – when the prize celebrates its 50th anniversary.

Cultural critic Leo Robson, feminist writer and critic Jacqueline Rose and artist and graphic novelist Leanne Shapton complete the panel, chaired by Appiah.

Kwame Anthony Appiah (Man Booker)

The 2017 Man Booker Prize for Fiction was won by Lincoln In The Bardo by US author George Saunders.

Gaby Wood, literary director of the Booker Prize Foundation, said the members of the judging panel have a “stunningly broad range of tastes and enthusiasms”.

The Man Booker Prize 2018 logo (Man Booker)

“They are all long-standing champions of creative work who will be open to any excellent novel that may come their way, regardless of genre or geography,” she said.

A longlist will be announced in July and the shortlist of six books in September.

The winner of the £50,000 prize will be revealed on October 16.

Press Association

Editors Choice

Also in Entertainment

Back to top