Saturday 20 October 2018

Your vote counts in Book Awards 2009

A new category for crime fiction is included in the shortlists, writes Madeleine Keane

Madeleine Keane

Madeleine Keane

An eclectic group of writers drank coffee and exchanged literary gossip in the sunshine on Tuesday as the shortlists for the Irish Book Awards 2009 were rolled out. Sebastian Barry, Professor Ivor Browne, Cecelia Ahern, Paul Howard (Ross O'Carroll- Kelly) and Hugo Hamilton among others joined publishers, agents and editors for the launch of the fourth year of The Irish Book Awards, which honour Irish writers across the publishing spectrum.

It is the only industry-wide event of its kind, and this year there are 10 categories, with a new award for crime fiction. Another new feature for 09 is the inclusion of you, the readers. For the first time, the overall winners in nine of the 10 categories will be chosen by a public vote, in conjunction with the Irish Literary Academy. The winners will be announced at a gala ceremony at the Mansion House on Wednesday, May 6, 2009.

The full shortlists for the 10 categories in the Irish Book Awards 2009 are as follows:

The Hughes & Hughes Irish Novel of the Year:

The Truth Commissioner by David Park (Bloomsbury)

The Secret Scripture by Sebastian Barry (Faber & Faber)

Netherland by Joseph O'Neill (Harper Perennial)

Disguise by Hugo Hamilton (Fourth Estate)

RTE Radio 1's The Tubridy Show Listeners' Choice Award:

Netherland by Joseph O'Neill (HarperPerennial)

The Secret Scripture by Sebastian Barry (Faber & Faber)

The Suspicions of Mr Whicher by Kate Summerscale (Bloomsbury)

Testimony by Anita Shreve (Little, Brown)

The Private Lives of Pippa Lee by Rebecca Miller (Canongate)

The White Tiger by Aravind Adiga (Atlantic Books)

The Ireland AM Irish Crime Fiction Book of the Year:

The Likeness by Tana French (Hachette Ireland)

Undertow by Arlene Hunt (Hachette Ireland)

Blood Runs Cold by Alex Barclay (Harper Collins)

Gallows Lane by Brian McGilloway (Pan MacMillan)

The Argosy Irish Non-Fiction Book of the Year:

Ivor Browne: Music and Madness by Ivor Browne (Cork University Press)

Stepping Stones by Seamus Heaney and Dennis O'Driscoll (Faber & Faber)

The Builders by Frank McDonald and Kathy Sheridan (Penguin)

Bake by Rachel Allen (Collins)

Eason Irish Popular Fiction Book of the Year:

The Gift by Cecelia Ahern (HarperCollins)

Mr S and the Secrets of Andorra's Box by Ross O'Carroll-Kelly (Penguin Ireland)

This Charming Man by Marian Keyes (Michael Joseph)

Heart and Soul by Maeve Binchy (Orion)

Lessons in Heartbreak by Cathy Kelly (Harper Collins)

Forgive and Forget by Patricia Scanlan (Transworld Ireland)

International Education Services Irish Newcomer of the Year:

The Poison Throne by Celine Kiernan (O'Brien Press)

Bad Day in Blackrock by Kevin Power (Lilliput)

Confessions of a Fallen Angel by Ronan O'Brien (Hachette Ireland)

Off the Beaten Track by Kathryn Thomas (Poolbeg)

Best Irish Published Book of the Year:

Crime Wars by Paul Williams (Merlin)

The Parish by Alice Taylor (Brandon)

Patrick Hillery -- The Official Biography by John Walsh (New Island)

Traditional Boats of Ireland by Criostoir MacCarthaigh (Collins Press)

Energise Sport Irish Sports Book of the Year:

Better than Sex: My Autobiography by Mick Fitzgerald and Donn McClean (Highdown)

Crashed and Byrned: The Greatest Racing Driver You Never Saw by Tommy Byrne and Mark Hughes (Icon Books)

Chairman of the Boards by Eamon Coughlan and George Kimball (Red Rock Press)

Ronan O'Gara: My Autobiography by Ronan O'Gara (Transworld Ireland)

The Dublin Airport Authority Irish Children's Book of the Year:


Her Mother's Face by Roddy Doyle (Scholastic)

Before You Sleep by Benji Bennett (Adams Printing Press)

Highway Robbery by Kate Thompson (Bodley Head)

The Great Paper Caper by Oliver Jeffers (HarperCollins Children's)


The Magician by Michael Scott (Doubleday Children's)

Playing with Fire by Derek Landy (HarperCollins)

Alice and Megan Forever by Judi Curtin (O'Brien Press)

The Poison Throne by Celine Kiernan (O'Brien Press)

Lifetime Achievement in Irish Literature:

The winner of this award will be decided by the Irish Literary Academy.

THE shortlist for the Irish Book Awards 2009 emerged from a ballot of more than 300 Irish booksellers and local libraries. With the full support of the Irish Booksellers Association, a ballot paper of submitted titles was created and sent to all bookshops nationwide in October 2008.

Members of the public are invited to vote for their favourite books in each category on the Irish Book Awards website www. or via RTE Radio 1's The Tubridy Show website and TV3's Ireland AM website. Every vote cast affords the voter entry to a draw to win up to €750 worth of National Book Tokens.

In-store promotions will begin this weekend and a FREE Irish Book Awards 2009 magazine will be available with features about the nominated authors in each category.

We wish all shortlisted nominees the best of luck.

Entertainment Newsletter

Going out? Staying in? From great gigs to film reviews and listings, entertainment has you covered.

Editors Choice

Also in Entertainment

Back to top