Wednesday 24 January 2018

Years after death, five Salinger titles to be unveiled

JD Salinger
JD Salinger

Philip Sherwell

In life he published famously little. But JD Salinger will become considerably more prolific in death, according to a documentary about the reclusive author.

It discloses the titles of five works by the writer of 'The Catcher in the Rye', which it says will be released in the years ahead.

Holden Caulfied, the protagonist of his defining novel, will appear in a short story sequel entitled 'The Last and Best of the Peter Pans', written in 1962.

The disclosure is part of an exhaustive documentary on the writer, entitled simply 'Salinger', that was screened for the first time at the Telluride film festival in Colorado on Monday night.


Citing two independent sources, Shane Salerno, the film's writer, said that Salinger, who died aged 91 in 2010, left instructions for his estate to publish the works after his death.

It has long been suspected that he had written for decades at his isolated home in New Hampshire, despite publishing nothing since 1965.

According to the documentary, the four other titles to be published between 2015 and 2020 are: 'A Counterintelligence Agent's Diary' about his time interrogating prisoners of war; 'A World War II Love Story' based on his brief marriage to Sylvia, a suspected Nazi, after the war; 'A Religious Manual' detailing his adherence to Advaita Vedanta Hinduism later in his life; and 'The Complete Chronicle of the Glass Family'.

The documentary traces Salinger's childhood and throws fresh light on his romantic history, including a relationship with Oona O'Neill, daughter of playwright Eugene. She dumped Salinger for Charlie Chaplin after he went away to World War II.

Irish Independent

Promoted Links

Entertainment Newsletter

Going out? Staying in? From great gigs to film reviews and listings, entertainment has you covered.

Promoted Links

Editors Choice

Also in Entertainment