| 4.2°C Dublin

Irish authors vie for €100,000 IMPAC prize


Author Donal Ryan

Author Donal Ryan

Author Donal Ryan

IRISH writers Donal Ryan and David Park are among the 10 authors shortlisted for the world's most valuable literary prize – the €100,000 International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award.

Tipperary-born Donal Ryan has been shortlisted for his debut novel 'The Spinning Heart' which famously was rejected by 47 publishers before it was plucked out of the slush pile by an intern working at Lilliput Press in Dublin. Published by Lilliput and Doubleday, it went on to win the novel of the year award at the Irish Book Awards and was longlisted for the Booker Prize.

Northern Ireland writer David Park has been shortlisted for his eighth novel, 'The Light of Amsterdam'.

Only three Irish writers, Colm Toibin, Colum McCann and Kevin Barry, who won last year, are previous winners of the €100,000 prize which began in 1996. The shortlisted titles are:

The Detour by Gerbrand Bakke

Questions of Travel by Michelle De Kretser

Absolution by Patrick Flanery

A Death in the Family by Karl Ove Knausgaard

Three Strong Woman by Marie NDiaye

Traveller of the Century by Andrés Neuman

Video of the Day

The Light of Amsterdam by David Park

The Spinning Heart by Donal Ryan

The Garden of Evening Mists by Tan Twan Eng

The Sound of Things Falling by Juan Gabriel Vásquez

Most Watched