Thursday 26 April 2018

Glaswegian thriller wins crime book award

Robert Dex

A gritty Glaswegian thriller has been named the best crime novel of the year.

Denise Mina picked up the Theakstons Old Peculier award and a cash prize of £3,000 for The End Of The Wasp Season.

The Glasgow-born writer worked in a factory and as a cook before going back to study law at the city's university.

In her ninth book, heavily pregnant detective DS Alex Morrow investigates the brutal murder of a mysterious woman in an smart part of the city.

Simon Theakston, executive director of the brewing firm which sponsors the award, presented Mina with her prize at a ceremony in Harrogate.

He said: "Denise Mina is a fantastically talented writer and The End Of The Wasp Season is a thoroughly deserving winner and a great example of tartan noir. It was a very tough decision this year as all the books on the shortlist were outstanding in different ways, but I'm delighted to be able to hand the trophy to Denise, the first woman to have won since 2008, for this hugely atmospheric and haunting book."

The award, which was founded in 2005 and is formally known as The Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year, is decided by public votes and a panel of experts which this year included actor David Morrissey.

Mina is among dozens of writers, including Jo Nesbo and Ian Rankin, appearing at this year's Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival in Harrogate

Entertainment Newsletter

Going out? Staying in? From great gigs to film reviews and listings, entertainment has you covered.

Editors Choice

Also in Entertainment