Wednesday 22 May 2019

Cecelia Ahern's 12th novel, The Marble Collector, to hit shelves in October

The Marble Collector - Cecelia Ahern
The Marble Collector - Cecelia Ahern
Aoife Kelly

Aoife Kelly

Fans of Cecelia Ahern's novels will be thrilled to know her latest offering, The Marble Collector, will be published on October 29.

Since her debut novel, PS I Love You, was released in 2004, Cecelia has written a further eleven novels, selling over 24 million copies worldwide.

She is now published in nearly 50 countries and two of her books, the aforementioned PS I Love You and Where Rainbows End have been adapted as films.

The Marble Collector tells the story of Sabrina, a young woman who happens upon a collection of marbles amongst her father's possessions.

Cecelia Ahern
Cecelia Ahern

She realises that two of the most expensive collections are missing and this propels her on a journey which reveals her father is not who she thinks he is and "she begins to understand the mysteries of herself".

Cecelia has constructed the novel in an unusual way with the narrative switching from Sabrina's perspective to her father Fergus'.

Each Fergus chapter is titled after a marble or a marble game and the chapter is about his memory of that marble and charts his life growing up in Dublin from the age of five to 60.

The press material adds, "While Fergus’ memories cover decades, Sabrina’s journey takes place on one day; the day of a total solar eclipse, when for the first time in years, feeling guided by the moon, Sabrina leaves the day-to-day monotony of what her life has become and makes a change."

The Marble Collector is published by HarperCollins and is in bookstores from 29th October, priced at £12.99.

Online Editors

Editors Choice

Also in Entertainment

Back to top