Wednesday 21 August 2019

Shortlists launch of 2015's best books

Spirits were very high at the launch of the BGE Irish Book Awards' 10th shortlists writes our Literary Editor

Taken to book: At the Irish Book Awards 2015 shortlist announced in the The Bord Gais Energy Theatre last week were Sinead Gleeson, Alastair Giles, Executive Director of the Irish Book Awards, and Madeleine Keane.
Taken to book: At the Irish Book Awards 2015 shortlist announced in the The Bord Gais Energy Theatre last week were Sinead Gleeson, Alastair Giles, Executive Director of the Irish Book Awards, and Madeleine Keane.
Marty Whelan and Cecelia Ahern at last year's Irish Book Awards shortlist launch.
John Banville
Belinda McKeon

Madeleine Keane

He'd gone off for a long walk, he told us and while it was great craic, he was back now. And so he was, among his people. Ryan Tubridy, or the boy who eats books for breakfast, as I once dubbed him, joined a starry array at the Bord Gais Energy Theatre last Wednesday for the launch of this year's BGE Irish Book Awards shortlists. We're ten years old now, so spirits were high as Dave Kirwan, Bord Gais Energy's book-loving leader, and Keelin Shanley, who will be our host on the big night (November 25 at the DoubleTree by Hilton), along with Ryan, formally launched proceedings.

Mind you, lift-off took some time as the book community caught up over coffee. Wonderful female writers, among them the Kates, Beaufoy and Kerrigan, Louise O'Neill, Sarah Bannon, Hilary Fannin and Sinead Crowley mingled with distinguished historians, Ronan Fanning and Diarmuid Ferriter and our own Niall MacMonagle and cookery writer Susan Jane White.

Also present were the remarkable phalanx of people without whom our writers would be unable to flourish: the publishers, agents, editors, publicists and booksellers who give Irish writing such sterling service, never more so than in recent times dealing with those twin threats, recession and online; industry stalwarts like Jane Alger of Unesco, the Stinging Fly's Declan Meade, Vanessa Fox of and Bert Wright who administers the IBAs with gusto and grit.

Above all, books need readers and the public are being asked to cast their vote for the best books via the Bord Gais Energy Irish Book Awards website Last year, over 45,000 book-lovers made their voices heard to help select the winners. Votes can be cast until midnight November 20, 2015. Also, please see page 3 for our superb competition.

Top writers who'll vie for Bord Gais Energy award

Eason Book Club Novel of the Year

Tender by Belinda McKeon (Picador)

Miss Emily by Nuala O'Connor (Sandstone Press Ltd)

The Green Road by Anne Enright (Jonathan Cape)

The Mark and the Void by Paul Murray (Hamish Hamilton)

Beatlebone by Kevin Barry (Canongate Books)

The Little Red Chairs by Edna O'Brien (Faber & Faber)

Sunday Independent Newcomer of the Year

Eggshells by Caitriona Lally (Liberties Press)

Spill Simmer Falter Wither by Sara Baume (Tramp Press)

The Glorious Heresies by Lisa McInerney (John Murray)

Hopscotch: A Memoir by Hilary Fannin (Doubleday Ireland)

Dinosaurs On Other Planets by Danielle McLaughlin (Stinging Fly Press)

Weightless by Sarah Bannan (Bloomsbury Circus) Best Irish Published Book of the Year

Ireland's Wild Atlantic Way by Carsten Krieger (The O'Brien Press)

The Long Gaze Back: An Anthology of Irish Writers Edited by Sinead Gleeson (New Island Books)

Windharp Edited by Niall McMonagle (Penguin Ireland)

1916: Portraits and Lives by Lawrence William White and James Quinn (Royal Irish Academy

Handbook of the Irish Revival: An Anthology of Cultural and Political Writings 1891-1922

by Declan Kiberd and PJ Mathews (Abbey Theatre Press)

Eileen Gray: Her Work and Her World by Jennifer Goff (Irish Academic Press)

Specsavers Children's Book of the Year (Junior)

Imaginary Fred by Eoin Colfer and Oliver Jeffers (HarperCollins Children's Books)

A Dublin Fairytale by Nicola Colton (The O'Brien Press)

The Boy Who Fell Off the Mayflower or John Howland's Good Fortune by PJ Lynch (Walker Books)

The Day the Crayons Came Home by Drew Daywalt and Oliver Jeffers (HarperCollins Children's Books)

The Snow Beast by Chris Judge (Andersen Press)

I'm a Girl! By Yasmeen Ismail (Bloomsbury Children's Books)

Specsavers Children's Book of the Year (Senior)

Asking For It by Louise O' Neill (Quercus Books)

Darkmouth: Worlds Explode by Shane Hegarty (HarperCollins Children's Books)

Demon Road by Derek Landy (HarperCollins Children's Books)

One by Sarah Crossan (Bloomsbury Children's Books)

Once Upon a Place by Eoin Colfer (Little Island Books)

The Boy at the Top of the Mountain by John Boyne (Doubleday Children's)

Avonmore Cookbook of the Year

The Virtuous Tart by Susan Jane White (Gill & Macmillan)

The Nation's Favourite Healthy Food by Neven Maguire (Gill & Macmillan)

A Bird in the Hand by Diana Henry (Mitchell Beazley)

Coast: Recipes from Ireland's Wild Atlantic Way by Rachel Allen (HarperCollins)

Home: Recipes from Ireland by Trish Deseine (Hachette Cuisine, Paris)

Fresh: by Donal Skehan (Hodder & Stoughton)

Ireland AM Crime Book of the Year

Even the Dead by Benjamin Black (Viking)

Freedom's Child by Jax Miller (HarperCollins)

Are You Watching Me? By Sinead Crowley (Quercus)

Only We Know by Karen Perry (Michael Joseph)

The Game Changer by Louise Phillips (Hachette Books Ireland)

After the Fire by Jane Casey (Ebury Press)

Irish Independent Popular Fiction Book of the Year

About Sisterland by Martina Devlin (Ward River Press)

The Dress by Kate Kerrigan (Head of Zeus)

Seedless in Seattle by Ross O'Carroll-Kelly (Penguin Ireland)

The Marble Collector by Cecelia Ahern (HarperCollins)

The Way We Were by Sinead Moriarty (Penguin Ireland)

Another Heartbeat in the House by Kate Beaufoy (Transworld Ireland)

National Book Tokens Non-Fiction Book of the Year

A Nation and not a Rabble by Diarmaid Ferriter (Profile Books)

Children of the Rising by Joe Duffy (Hachette Books Ireland)

The Maximalist by Matt Cooper (Gill & Macmillan)

The Projectionist by Carlo Gebler (New Island Books)

Eamon de Valera by Ronan Fanning (Faber & Faber)

1916: The Mornings After by Tim Pat Coogan (Head of Zeus)

Bord Gais Energy Sports Book of the Year

Pulling the Strings: My Autobiography by Peter Stringer (Penguin Ireland)

Punching Above Their Weight by Sean McGoldrick (The O'Brien Press)

The White Heat: My Autobiography by Tomas O Se (Gill & Macmillan)

Until Victory Always: A Memoir by Jim McGuinness (Gill & Macmillan)

The Autobiography by Henry Shefflin (Penguin Ireland )

The Last Line: My Autobiography by Packie Bonner (Ebury Press)

Books Are My Bag Popular Non-Fiction Book of the Year

Counting My Blessings by Francis Brennan (Gill & Macmillan)

Me and My Mate Jeffrey by Niall Breslin (Hachette Books Ireland)

Off You Go by Maeve Higgins (Hachette Books Ireland)

Shine: A Girl's Guide to Thriving (Not Just Surviving) in Real Life by Siobhan Hackett and Mary Doherty (Hachette Books Ireland)

That's Life by Marty Whelan (Gill & Macmillan)

The Daughterhood by Natasha Fennell and Roisin Ingle (Simon & Schuster)

RTE Radio 1's The Ryan Tubridy Show Listeners' Choice Award

Asking For It by Louise O'Neill (Quercus)

So You've Been Publicly Shamed by Jon Ronson (Picador)

The Green Road by Anne Enright (Jonathan Cape)

Girl on The Train by Paula Hawkins (Doubleday)

Call the Midlife by Chris Evans (Weidenfeld & Nicholson)

Irelandopedia by Fatti and John Burke (Gill & Macmillan) Short Story of the Year

A Slanting of the Sun by Donal Ryan (Doubleday)

Boy, 19 by John Boyne (Beneath the Earth, Doubleday)

The Journey to Galway by Colm Toibin (Faber/The Irish Times)

December Swimmers by Paul Lenehan (The Moth)

Monologue for Cabman by Kevin Barry (The Stinging Fly Press)

What Time Is It Now, Where You Are? By Colum McCann (Thirteen Ways of Looking, Bloomsbury)

Sunday Indo Living

Editors Choice

Also in Entertainment

Back to top