Thursday 14 December 2017

Listowel Writers' Week: Author Eoin McNamee scoops €15k award for his novel 'Blue Is The Night'

Eoin McNamee
Eoin McNamee
Geraldine Gittens

Geraldine Gittens

Author Eoin McNamee has scooped a €15,000 prize for his novel Blue Is The Night.

The writer was named the winner of the Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year Award at the opening of Listowel Writers’ Week tonight.

The €15,000 award is the highest monetary prize awarded for a book published by an Irish author.

Judge Professor Gerald Dawe described the book as “the kind of novel you go looking for - it tells a story, it tells it well, and underneath the calm prose style the ground is shifting. It is a truly unforgettable read.”

The four other shortlisted novels were: 'City of Dis' by David Butler, 'The Closet of Savage Mementos' by Nuala Ní Chonchúir, 'The Visitors' by Patrick O’Keeffe and 'The Diary of Mary Travers' by Eibhear Walshe.

Paul Muldoon took the €5,000 Pigott Poetry Prize for his collection 'One Thousand Things Worth Knowing'.

Sponsor Mark Pigott said: "Paul is an extraordinary poet, whose poems capture the wonderful grace and grandeur of Ireland, its people and the countryside we all love.

The four other shortlisted titles were:'From Elsewhere' by Ciaran Carson, 'Gathering Evidence' by Caoilinn Hughes, 'Before Rain' by Ger Reidy and 'The Rooms' by Peter Sirr. 

The awards evening was hosted by Listowel Writers’ Week President Colm Tóibín and Laureate for Irish Fiction Anne Enright officially opened the festival.

Listowel Writers Week runs from tonight until Sunday May 31 and features a host of national and international authors such as Per Petterson, Sara Baume, Dennis Lehane, Neel Mukherjee, Claire Louise Bennett, Andrew O’Hagan and Jesse Armstrong.

For further information see

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Entertainment Newsletter

Going out? Staying in? From great gigs to film reviews and listings, entertainment has you covered.

Promoted Links

Editors Choice

Also in Entertainment