Wednesday 13 December 2017

Twitter now lets you retweet yourself

The Twitter Inc. logo
The Twitter Inc. logo

Twitter has often been criticised as a haven for oversharing narcissists: now its vainest users have one more way to love themselves.

The social network switched on the ability for users to retweet their own posts, allowing them to re-share tweets that have already appeared in followers’ timelines.

Thankfully, a user can only retweet themselves once, preventing them from clogging up timelines by repeatedly retweeting the same message.

The update also makes it easier for users to quote-tweet themselves, which allows them to write a tweet with another tweet embedded in it.

Whereas before users would have to painstakingly copy and paste their old tweet’s URL into a new tweet, they can now do so by effortlessly pressing the retweet button and selecting “quote tweet”. What a world we live in.

Twitter announced the update last month, alongside a number of other changes such as removing photos and usernames from the character count, and changing who sees tweets beginning with a username.

The self-retweet function is the first of these changes to be activated.

Twitter has also updated its block feature, which stops blocked users from seeing a person’s tweets and prevents tweets from the blocked user showing up in the blocker’s timeline.

Previously, if a third person would retweet either user, the other person would be able to see it, but the updated block feature closes that loophole.

Telegraph.co.uk

Promoted Links

Business Newsletter

Read the leading stories from the world of Business.

Promoted Links

Also in Business