Gmail's "Undo Send" feature has been nestled in the service's labs menu, designed for experimental or niche options, since the last decade, but it has finally graduated into the mainstream.
Google announced that Undo Send - a life-saver for those sloppy enough to enter the wrong address or let a Freudian slip into an email - would become a formal feature on Gmail.
The feature allows people to cancel an email up to 30 seconds after pressing "send". It will be rolled out by Google over the next two weeks.
Sending emails by mistake recently landed the Bank of England in hot water, when it sent details of a secret taskforce investigating the impact of a British EU exit to a journalist at the Guardian.
Here's how you can prevent doing this yourself.
Navigate to the Settings tab in Gmail, in the drop-down menu under the gear sign on the right-hand side of the Inbox
The settings tab will take you to a list of options, with tabs across the top for each section.
The "Undo Send" option used to appear in Labs, but is now the ninth option down on the "General" tab.
Select the box to activate the feature, and select how long you want to be able to cancel the email for - 5, 10, 20 or 30 seconds.
Hit "Save changes" at the bottom of the page, and you're done.
Now, if you send an email, you'll see an "undo" button at the top of the page.
Click this, and the email won't send. Gmail's "Undo Send" doesn't actually undo sending, so much as delay it until the cancellation period has elapsed - so an "unsent" email will never actually arrive in the recipient's inbox.