Facebook testing ‘delete account’ function
Facebook is reportedly testing a new function that makes it easier for users to permanently delete their accounts
Facebook has rolled out a new feature that makes it easier for people to permanently quit the social-networking website, according to technology blog Slashdot.
The “Deactivate Account” button, which had previously been accessible via a link buried within the Frequently Asked Questions section of the Help Centre, is now accessible under the Account Settings tab, under a new heading labelled “Deactivate or Delete your Account”.
Clicking on the link will allow Facebook users to permanently delete their accounts. Under the previous system, user accounts would be deleted after a fortnight.
Facebook said the feature was limited to select accounts during a testing phase, but would eventually be rolled out to all 500 million Facebook users.
“We are constantly testing new ideas,” said a Facebook spokesman. “One of these recent tests included variations of the delete-account option for a very small percentage of users.”
Facebook was heavily criticised earlier this year for changes to privacy settings on its website which could have led to users publicly sharing more information than they realised.
Mark Zuckerberg, Facebook’s founder, responded by streamlining privacy settings across the site, so that one privacy filter would automatically be applied to all parts of a user’s profile.