Monday 20 November 2017

INM business reporter shortlisted for prestigious literary prize Newsdesk Newsdesk

One of INM's business reporters has been shortlisted for a prestigious prize, awarded to young writers for the best business book proposal.

Gavin McLoughlin has been selected - along with eight others (all aged under 35) - to be in the running for the 2016 Bracken Bower Prize.

Three finalists from the shortlist will be drawn from the top nine, with one talented author to receive the accolade on November 22.

Named after Brendan Bracken, former editor of the Financial Times, the Bracken Bower Prize aims to reward the best literary proposal covering the challenges and opportunities of growth. 

All three finalists will get to attend a masterclass with a book editor, a publisher and an agent, and will be announced on November 18 as the FT publish extracts from their book proposals.

The winner will receive £15,000 for their submission and will be announced at a dinner in London. 

Dearbhail McDonald, Group Business Editor of INM, said that Mr McLoughlin’s presence on the shortlist was a testament to the talent and tenacity of one of Ireland’s brightest young business reporters.

“The judges are looking for a proposal for a book that aims to provide a compelling and enjoyable insight into future trends in business, economics, finance or management. Every day Gavin vigorously pursues those insights as a key member of the INM business team who are thrilled to see one of our younger members receive such a prestigious validation of his work”.

Mr McLoughlin is the latest member of the INM business team to be shortlisted for a series of awards.

Personal Finance Editor Charlie Weston and Technology Editor Adrian Weckler have been shortlisted for Business Journalist of the Year in the 2016 Journalism Awards while Mr Weckler and Brexit Correspondent Colm Kelpie have been shortlisted for Business Story of the Year.

Ms McDonald has been shortlisted in the Broadsheet Columnist and News Reporter categories of the awards which are sponsored by the National Lottery.

The full shortlist of authors are as follows:

Sophie Dickins

Scott Harley

Simn Hedlin

Gavin McLoughlin


Igor Pejic

Nora Rosendahl

Pavan Soni

Alexander Webb

Online Editors

Promoted Links

Business Newsletter

Read the leading stories from the world of Business.

Promoted Links

Also in Business